What is a Thinking School?

Six Starting Points

A warm welcome to our Thinking Schools Homepage. I hope that whether you are a prospective or current parent, pupil or teacher, you will find the information helpful.

As an introduction to Thinking Schools you might like to watch these videos featuring our Vice Principal and National Trainer for Thinking Schools International, Richard Coe. In the 4 short videos Richard attempts to answer the following Questions:

  1. What is a Thinking School? Why did you decide to become a Thinking School? What difference did you want to make? (Click here for video)
  2. What difference has becoming a Thinking School made to your students? (Click here for video)
  3. What difference has becoming a Thinking School made to your teachers? (Click here for video)
  4. What were some of the challenges you faced on your journey to becoming a Thinking School? (click here for video)

 

The Thinking Schools approach is supported by the Cognitive Education Development Unit at Exeter University (click here for webpage) and Thinking Matters (click here for webpage)

As part of our commitment to The Thinking Schools Network, we open our doors to any school or individual who wants assistance, guidance or information on Thinking Skills and a whole school approach to Thinking. We also provide training for schools and have presented at a number of conferences on Thinking Skills (click here for more information)

 

The Thinking Drive Team

  • Richard Coe (Vice Principal and DSL) - rcoe@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • David Paterson (Associate Vice Principal, Teaching and Learning) - dpaterson@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Charly Barrett (Assistant Principal, KS3) - cbarrett@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Rob Hilton (Curriculum Leader for Humanities) - rhilton@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Simon Smith (Lead Practitioner in Science) - ssmith@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Danielle Fisher (Associate Assistant Principal, Teaching and Learning) - dfisher@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Krista Cartlidge (Associate Assistant Principal, Staff Development) - kcartlidge@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk
  • Patrick Thorne (Lead Coach) - pthorne@glenmoorandwinton.org.uk

 

Testimonies and commitment

Benjamin Antell (Executive Principal, GW) - click here for Ben’s endorsement of a Thinking School approach
Kate Forbes (Chair of the LGB) - click here for Kate’s endorsement of a Thinking School Approach
5 Year Journey – click here to see the Academies vision for the next 5 years

 

Please click on the icon below to reveal more about thinking school approaches at GW

High Achievement, High Standards

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy
Policies

United Learning